Week 4-Forty Days in the Desert-Lord Quench My Thirst

Lord quench my thirst for you...

Pray this week in a special way for the gift of an open and receiving heart, as a bride who receives her bridegroom in love and mercy.

Remember to begin each day with the prayer to the Holy Spirit. Really take the time this week to reflect on the theme of the Catechism of the Catholic Church with the weekly reflections. The Lord is moving a step forward and calling us into deeper union with Him. Remember to keep track of the way the Lord is moving in you through your prayer journal, and the areas of growth or healing He desires to accomplish through your heart.

A quick note – work at your own pace in these exercises according to your schedule in your state in life. Some days you may not be able to rest with the Lord as you are with other days. God honors your time you give to him, and can multiply the graces all the more.

Catechism of the Catholic Church – CCC 2655-2679

“Dear children, today I thank you for every opening of your hearts. Joy overtakes me for every heart that is opened to God especially from the parish. Rejoice with me! Pray all the prayers for the opening of sinful hearts. I desire that, God desires that through me. Thank you for having responded to my call.” (4/18/85)

Day 1

“Dear children, today I want to tell you to begin to work in your hearts as you are working in the fields. Work and change your hearts so that a new spirit from God can take its place in your hearts…” (4/25/85)

“…My beloved daughter, you have come to know well the depths of my mercy. I will do what you ask, but unite yourself continually with my agonizing heart and make reparation to my justice. Know that you have asked me for a great thing, but I see that this was dictated by your pure love for me, that is why I am complying with your requests…” (diary 873)

Ps. 19:10, Ps. 111:10, Jn. 21:16-17

Day 2

“Dear children, today I call you to prayer with the heart, and not just from habit. Some are coming but do not wish to move ahead in prayer. Therefore, I wish to warn you like a Mother. Pray that prayer prevails in your hearts in every moment. Thank you for having responded to my call.” (5/2/85)

“It is my Passion that you must seek light and strength…fear nothing, I am with you.” (Diary 654-55)

Jn. 21:15, Jn. 13:34, 2 Cor. 5:20-21

Day 3

“Dear children, no; you do not know how many graces God is giving you. You do not want to move ahead during these days when the Holy Spirit is working in a special way. Your hearts are turned toward the things of earth and they preoccupy you. Turn your hearts toward prayer and seek the Holy Spirit to be poured out on you….” (5/9/85)

“…My omnipotent mercy is active here. Happy the soul that takes advantage of this grace. What joy fills my heart when you return to me. Because you are weak, I take you in My arms and carry you to the home of my Father…” (diary 1486)

Rom. 8:19, Lk. 24:47, Acts 9:31

Day 4

“…I am calling you to more active prayer and attendance at Holy Mass. I wish your Mass to be an experience of God. I wish especially to say to the young people; be open to the Holy Spirit because God wishes to draw you to Himself in these days when satan is at work…” (5/16/85)

“…You have a special claim on my mercy. Let it act in your poor soul; let the rays of grace enter your soul; they bring with them light, warmth and life. My child, all your sins have not wounded my heart as painfully as your present lack of trust does; that after so many efforts of my love and mercy you shouldn’t doubt my mercy…” (Diary 1486)

2 Cor. 4:10-12, 1 Jn. 4:19, Jn. 15:12-13

Day 5

“Dear children, these days I call you especially to open your hearts to the Holy Spirit. Especially during these days the Holy Spirit is working through you. Open your hearts and surrender your lives to Jesus so that He works through your hearts and strengthens you in faith…” (5/23/85)

“Here soul, are all the treasures of my heart. Take everything you need from it. Tell me all, my child, hide nothing from me because My loving heart, the Heart of your best friend is listening to you.”

Matt. 9:11-13, Matt. 11:29-30, Is. 45:3

Day 6

“Dear children, I call you again to prayer with the heart. Let prayer, dear children be your everyday food in a special way when your work in the fields is so wearing you out, that you cannot pray with the heart. Pray, and then you shall overcome even every weariness. Prayer will be your joy and your rest. Thank you for having responded to my call.” (5/30/85)

“Poor soul, I see that you suffer much and that you do not have even the strength to converse with me. So I will speak to you. Even though your sufferings were very great, do not lose heart or give in to despondency. But tell Me my child, who has dared to wound your heart? Tell me about everything; be sincere in dealing with Me, reveal all the wounds of your heart. I will heal them, and your suffering will become a source of your sanctification…do not be discouraged. I know your boundless trust in me; I know you are aware of my goodness and mercy. Let us talk in detail about everything that weights so heavily upon your heart..talk to me simply as a friend to a friend. Tell me now, my child what hinders you from advancing in holiness?”

Rev. 21:3-5, 1 Jn. 1:3-4, Jn 3:16, Jer. 1:5-8

Day 7 Review

Posted in Blessed Mother, Blessed Virgin Mary, blood and water, Catechism, Catechism of the Catholic Church, Catholic, Catholic Spirituality, Catholicism, children of medjugorje, Church, Commandments, confession, contemplation, contemplative prayer, conversion, Cross, crosses, crucified, crucifix, crucifixion, dear children, desert, divine love, Divine Mercy, Divine Mercy Sunday, domestic church, Eternal Father, Eternal Word, Eucharist, Faith, Family, family consecration, family conversion, family formation, family healing, family life, Family Novena, family prayer, family rosary, family traditions, Family Values, Fasting and prayer, Fasting prayer, Feast of Divine Mercy, forgiveness, Fount of mercy, God, God the Father, God's love, Good Friday, grace and mercy, Healing, Holy Family, Holy Family Workshop, holy Father, Holy Mass, Holy Mother, Holy Spirit, Holy Trinity, Hope, human spirit, humble, humble devotion, intercession, intercessors, Jesus Christ, Jesus I trust in you, Lent, Lenten Exercise, Lenten prayer, Lenten Preparation, Lenten Reflection, Love, love of God, Medjugorje, Medjugorje Healing, medjugorje message, Medjugorje pilgrimage, New Springtime, Nine Day Novena, Novena, open your hearts, Our Lady, Parents, personal conversion, pray for unbelievers, Pray with the Heart, Prayer, prayer for deceased, prayer for families, prayer for priests, prayer for unbelievers, prayer for youth, Prayer with the heart, precious blood, priest, Priests, private revelation, prophecy, purification, Queen of Peace, reconcile, reconciliation, Religion, Religious, Rosary, Rosary Novena, Sacrament of Reconciliation, Sacramental Grace, Sacraments, Sacred Scripture, Santifying Grace, Sign of God, St. Faustina, suffering, Ten Commandments, time of grace, time of mercy, tools, traditions, unbelievers, universal, universe, Vatican, Visitation, vocation, weapon against, Word made flesh, Word of God, workshop, world. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Leave a Comment »