Prayer to St. Joseph the Workman (Feast May 1st)

St. Joseph patron saint of Workers, pray for us

PRAYER TO ST. JOSEPH THE WORKMAN

O glorious St. Joseph, model of all those who are devoted to labor, obtain for me the grace to work conscientiously, putting the call of duty above my natural inclinations, to work with gratitude and joy, in a spirit of penance for the remission of my sins, considering it an honor to employ and develop by means of labor the gifts received from God, to work with order, peace, moderation and patience, without ever shrinking from weariness and difficulties, to work above all with purity of intention and detachment from self, having always death before my eyes and the account that I must render of time lost, of talents wasted, of good omitted, of vain complacency in success, so fatal to the work of God. All for Jesus, all through Mary, all after your example, O Patriarch St. Joseph. Such shall be my watchword in life and in death…

O Blessed Joseph, you passed your life in the painful labors of a humble profession, I take you as my model and my protector. Obtain for me that I may bear patiently the pains and fatigues of my state in life, so that like you, sanctifying my labors, I may merit a crown in Heaven. Amen.

St. Joseph Patron St. of Laborers, I place myself under your constant protection as my loving father. Adopt me as your spiritual child and keep me from all sin. I take refuge in your arms where you hold the holy child. Lead me on the path of virtue and assist me at the hour of death. St. Joseph, pray for us

PETITION FOR ST. JOSEPH’S BLESSING

Bless me O dearly beloved and father St. Joseph; bless my body and my soul; bless my resolutions, my words and deeds, all my actions and omissions, my ever step; bless everything I possess, all interior and exterior goods, my vocation and family/community members, that everything may redound to the greater honor of God. Bless me for time and eternity, and preserve me from every sin. Obtain for me the grace to make atonement for all my sins by love and contrition here on earth, so that after my last breath I may without delay, prostrate at your feet, return you thanks in Heaven for all the love and goodness you O dearly beloved father have shown to me here below. Amen.

MAY 1ST PRAYER

O God, you are the Creator of all living things, Who did frame the law of labor for the whole human race, graciously grant that, by the example and patronage of St. Joseph, we may do the work You have assigned to us and earn the reward You did promise. Through Our Lord Jesus Christ, thy Son, who lives and reigns with Thee in the unity of the Holy Spirit, one God world without end. Amen.

Leave a Reply

